Rice Krispies

I woke up this morning with an urge to bake. I’ve always enjoyed it but it doesn’t happen very often where I wake up and that’s all I can think about doing for the day. I know this one doesn’t technically count as baking but I also made a cake, but I’ll write a separate post about that one. I had been promising Christian for months that I would make homemade rice krispies. We had all the ingredients (I had bought 10 bags of marshmallows when they were on sale this last Christmas. We had had a lot of baking planned but apparently only enough for 4 bags to get used, leaving us with 6 bags of marshmallows to figure out how to use.) but I wasn’t looking forward to standing over a large pot, constantly stirring the marshmallows to make sure they didn’t burn on the bottom. And the cleanup. That sticky gooey marshmallow mess was not at the top of my list of fun things to do. I was roaming Pinterest one day and came across a recipe for Rice Krispies made in a slow cooker. I saved the pin and forgot about it, until today. When I woke up in that mood to bake I started going through my Dessert/Baked Goods Board on Pinterest. (I think I might have pinned it on that one rather than recipes on accident) but nonetheless there it was and I thought it would be a great day to finally fulfill that promise and make those yummy treats. **Slow Cooker Rice Krispie Treats The recipe originally came from here. I was really excited about the idea of putting all the ingredients in, leaving it for an hour and coming back to it practically done! When I’ve made rice krispies in the past the recipes have called for vanilla extract, since I had some on hand I decided to add about a tsp to the butter after I softened it in the microwave. I also had just a little bit of coco krispies on hand so I threw them in with the regular ones. I followed the rest of the instructions and it turned out great! I have an old crockpot, I don’t know exactly how many quarts it holds but I think it’s about six. This recipe filled up my crockpot though, so unless you have a much bigger crockpot I wouldn’t recommend doubling it. Maybe I’m just saying this because I haven’t yet cleaned the gooey mess from my crockpot, (It was too hot to clean at the time so I just left it to soak) but I would definitely recommend this recipe for someone who wants an easy, tasty snack treat! I didn’t have a real baking dish to transfer this too, but I did have a cookie sheet sized for toaster ovens, this recipe made a thin spread over the whole cookie sheet but if I had one, I would’ve used an 8×8 baking dish, I think that would’ve given them the perfect thickness like how they look in the picture above. RiceKrispies3 RiceKrispies4 A couple of notes… I would attempt this with a partner, maybe I’m just a weakling but I couldn’t lift up the crockpot with one hand and scoop it out with the other, so I made Christian hold it while I scooped. Also maybe the wax paper we were using was cheap, but I think that parchment paper would work better to line the cookie sheet rather than wax paper. When trying to separate the treats from the wax paper it started to rip and tore little pieces off onto the treats so I had to spend time picking each little piece off. Now we have some goodies to go with our lunches this week! I really hope you like this, leave me comments about what you think! I’ve been thinking about writing a blog for awhile, but recently I started reading the book Julie and Julia. If you haven’t seen the movie its about a woman who doesn’t know what to do with her life, but when she stumbles across Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, she takes on the task of making all 524 recipes in the book in 365 days, and blogging about the experience. As I have started to read it it makes me want to blog even more. And as Christian encouraged me: “What’s the worst that could happen if you try?” So here we go. Thank you for reading! Ala

2 thoughts on “Rice Krispies

    • Yeah I’ve watched the movie before but I was interested to see if the book was just as good!I’m glad you recommend it!
      I just took a look at your blog and I love what you stand for! I feel the same way about food, I’ll definitely watch out for your posts!
      Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

