One Pan Cabbage and Sausage Skillet with Rice

The sad truth… not every dish is a winner. As much as I wish it were true it’s just not. Although I wish I could start out this blog on a better foot, that’s just not what this is about! The reason why I started this was to sort through the numerous recipes on pinterest and review the results. The everyday person doesn’t put their food in a lightbox to make it look more appealing than it actually is. Also not everyone is a stickler for plating, some people spend a lot of time making sure their food looks just so. If you watch cooking shows you’ve heard the saying a million times, “you eat with your eyes before you eat with your mouth,” and though that may be true, in every one of those shows they will still pick the food that was the most delicious tasting over one that just looked really nice. Of course I would definitely prefer it if my food looked amazing but I know that that’s not always an option. My point is that this blog isn’t for the 5 star chefs, its for the everyday person. The one that cooks to feed themselves, their spouse, or even their whole family. This is for someone who’s looking for new exciting choices to liven up their weekly meal plan.

I’ve never cooked cabbage before. I’m just going to throw that out there. Before today the only way I had come into contact with cabbage was through sauerkraut or the once in a while chow mien. It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s just that the opportunity had never arisen. If you think about it there isn’t a lot of American Cuisine that focuses on the cabbage, coleslaw is loved at summer picnics, but the vegetable as a whole is under-appreciated. I know that there are recipes where cabbage is a main ingredient, (corned beef and cabbage, brats and sauerkraut) but none of these compare to the Asian use of this delicious vegetable. Just think about it, the before mentioned chow mien, cabbage rolls, kimchi, it’s even an ingredient in many egg rolls and pot stickers. So instantly when I saw cabbage on sale at our local Hy-vee for 19 cents a pound, I thought to make one of these popular Asian dishes. However, St.Patty’s day just passed and the stir fry I am making later this week would only use half a head of cabbage, so could I find an Irish inspired dish to make with the other half (other than the usual corned beef and cabbage)?

Here is what I found: One Pan Cabbage and Sausage Skillet with Rice

One Skillet Cabbage and Sausage with Rice

It looks delicious!

If I had known last week when I was planning out this weeks meal plan that I would be posting the things we made online, maybe I wouldn’t have picked a recipe that I had to change so much of to work for us. Having to carry each and every thing that we want to use while cooking down a long hallway to get to the kitchen makes us cut some corners when it comes to following the recipe. I don’t want to bring an extra plate to set the sausage aside on while cooking the rest of the ingredients, I’d rather just leave it in the pan with everything else because it’s not going to overcook if I leave it in there.

But like I mentioned before I made a lot of changes to this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 7 ounces smoked (fully cooked)  sausage, sliced into half rounds
  • 1/2 head of cabbage, cut into thin slices
  • 3 carrots
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 (15 ounce) can fire roasted tomatoes in their juices
  • 1 cup white rice

(In the pictures you will see that I added black beans, I had some cooked black beans sitting in my fridge that needed to get used soon so I figured that I would just toss them in to tonight’s meal and see how it goes. They didn’t really blend very well into the dish so I’m leaving them out of the ingredients list.)

Directions

Heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. Add the sausage slices, cabbage, carrots, and salt and pepper.

CabbageSaus

Stir until cabbage starts to become transparent. Add rice, chicken stock and canned tomatoes to the dish, stirring well.

CabbageSaus3

Bring to a boil, stir again, and then cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until rice is tender. Let stand 5 minutes, until most of the remaining liquid is absorbed. Serve warm.

cabbagesaus4

Mine definitely does not look as pretty as that original post… So why did I change so much to this recipe? I explained why I left the sausage in before so I’ll leave that at that. Christian and I aren’t a big fan of onions so we don’t buy them on a regular basis, however Hy-Vee also had some organic carrots on sale one pound for 88 cents so we grabbed some of those. I figured they were a root vegetable like onions, and they would probably fit into this dish nicely, which they did! Like I explained with the eggs the other day, we really like to make our proteins stretch farther than they normally would. Therefore I only used half of the sausage asked for in the recipe. If I wasn’t worried about this sort of thing I would’ve definitely have used the whole package. (That was Christian’s biggest complaint about this dish – too much cabbage and not enough sausage.) I also figured that we were adding in the black beans so that would help us get our daily recommended amount of protein. (Like I said above that was not my best idea, just trying to use them up before they went bad). I’m the kind of person that would rather use the ingredients that I have on hand rather than going out and buying something specifically for a recipe. This is the main reason that I had to change the set out recipe. I only had white rice, not minute brown rice, so I knew that it was going to take more liquids and a longer cooking time. That is why I increased the chicken stock to 2 1/2 cups. Like I normally say, If I would’ve had that ingredient I would’ve used it, but since I didn’t I had to make due with what I’ve got.

At the beginning I made it obvious that I wasn’t a big fan of the ending product. If I had followed the directions exactly, maybe I would’ve liked it more but I’m not fully convinced. My biggest complaint of this dish is that it was bland. It needed some spice, rather than just salt and pepper. Except I couldn’t pinpoint exactly what I should’ve put in to it. If you have any suggestions please leave me a comment and let me know! I’m interested to hear. Overall however I don’t think I will be making this dish again.

Hopefully the dishes I am making for the rest of this week turn out better than this one did! Plus I still have half a cabbage, lets redeem it with an Asian flair later this week!

Thank you for Reading!

Ala

3 thoughts on “One Pan Cabbage and Sausage Skillet with Rice

  1. Pingback: Creamy Parmesan Rice | Pin. Eat. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

