Pork Tenderloin

“Pork Chops and Applesauce” Though I didn’t understand the reference at the time, any time that we had pork for dinner it was all my parents would say. They told me that it was from The Brady Bunch, but since that show was off the air before I was even born I only got to see reruns, and never one that included the phrase “Pork Chops and Applesauce” However for my household that phrase was always true. Any time we had pork, there had to be an accompanying side of Applesauce for dunking. Though I love trying new things, I can be stuck in my ways at times too. That is why when I saw a pork tenderloin on sale for $3.99/lb (it was mis-marked – supposed to be priced at $4.99/lb) I snagged it and ran to the Applesauce isle.

Since I was so excited, I love to eat pork. I planned to eat it right away, so it was put on the meal plan for this week. However this morning when I woke up, I realized that although I planned to have it I didn’t plan a specific recipe for the rub/glaze/flavorings for it! So I went to scour the internet. At first I thought maybe this one would be a good idea: It’s a simple Herb Roasted Pork Loin.

Herb Rubbed Pork Loin

It’s easy, quick, and delicious. I know it’s delicious because I’ve made it before! But I wanted to try something new and exciting. So I searched Pinterest. There were many different options to try, (as you can see from the numerous Pork Tenderloins recipes I’ve pinned today if you follow me,) some even included applesauce right in the recipe! But since the applesauce is just for me, I decided to see if I could find something a bit more crowd pleasing.

Only certain meats are fit for crock-pot use. Others, dry out after so much time on a low heat. Pork tenderloin can definitely withstand the heat as long as it has enough liquids to keep it moist. However since I decided which recipe to use after it was too late to take on a slow cooking approach, my choices were somewhat limited. I decided upon a recipe that was no where near other pork tenderloin recipes that I have made before. It fit all of my requirements, simple, quick, and used ingredients that I already had on hand. Easy Pork Tenderloin:

This blogger normally throws their Pork Tenderloin in the marinade while they’re home on lunch breaks, though they also say that throwing it in before going to work is fine. However many of us don’t want to wake up earlier than we have to just to make sure that dinner is going to be ready on time. We also don’t want to come home from work and have to wait around for our food to marinade when all we can think about is stuffing our bellies, (or maybe that’s just me…) but I propose another suggestion. Assuming you have more time on the days that you actually purchase your food for the week, you could create this quick marinade in a freezer Ziploc baggie, add your pork tenderloin, and throw it in the freezer and then when you take it out to thaw it will thaw in the juices of the marinade, effectively saving you time on busy days.

It may surprise you, but I actually followed this recipe for the most part! Unlike last night where I made all those changes, tonight I’m sticking to the post, (although I did add an ingredient…) For this recipe I didn’t have any Dijon Mustard, however I did have regular mustard, and honey but I didn’t know if I should follow the recipe and just do honey or do both? I ended up doing 1.5 tablespoons of both mustard and honey. I also added a good amount of dried rosemary to the recipe. What’s a good amount? Eh I don’t know just keep pouring until it looks good 😉 I would have to say I probably used 2 tablespoons if I eyed it out. Other than that, everything else is the same!

I was planning on roasting some carrots, specifically these Honey-Roasted Carrots, (although without the sweet potatoes and parsnips, although they also sound good,) with tonight’s dinner, however that’s when I realized I only had one cookie sheet… So, I cut up some carrots and added them to the marinade, I figured that then I could roast them on the same pan and the whole dish will be cohesive, right?

porkloin3

PorkLoin

So how was it? It was amazing! The pork was moist and juicy with a great flavor! It was the perfect way to serve this amazing dish. However the carrots had soaked up too much of the soy sauce flavor and were unbearably salty. I think I put them in the marinade for too long. If I were to make this recipe again, instead of marinating the carrots with the pork I would change my tactics. When I am just about ready to put my marinaded pork on the cookie sheet I will take the pork out of the marinade and quickly toss the carrots in the leftover sauce, that way, they will still get the great flavor of the marinade without being overwhelmed by the salty soy sauce.

Would I recommend this dish to anyone looking for a quick, easy and delicious meal?? YES. YES. YES. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

Porkloin2

Thank you for Reading!

Ala

2 thoughts on “Pork Tenderloin

  1. When I was growing up, mom made pork chops and apple sauce for dinner at least once a week, then the Brady Bunch made the phrase popular. I never new it was a “thing” until Peter Brady said it with his fake southern drawl. I remember thinking, “hey! We eat pork chops and apple sauce.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So I’m not the only one! I’m glad to hear it! Even still growing up I didn’t know i was a thing, I thought it was something special only my family did even though it had been on TV already. haha 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

