Slow Cooker Quinoa Risotto

So I never really got around to making that meal plan then. So each day I’ve been kind of making it up as I go along. I try to make at least one if not more of our meals each week vegetarian. Not only does this save us money on expensive proteins, but it also helps us diversify our diets. Because it’s a Wednesday and I have my long night class I was looking to make a crock pot recipe, but I hadn’t pulled any meat out to thaw, plus we had already eaten meat two out of three days so far. However I also try to give us well rounded meals. That gave me three options, quinoa (which I have a lot of), chickpeas, or lentils, (which I am saving for another meal). I found this recipe from Plain Chicken to make crock pot risotto. I liked the idea of it, but I also wanted to get us our daily protein so I thought I might switch it up a bit.

Slow Cooker Risotto - hands free method to make yummy risotto - chicken broth, rice, seasonings and cheese! Can add chicken, peas, mushrooms, etc.

I figured that quinoa and rice were pretty similar, so switching them out for each other shouldn’t be a big deal, so that was my first change for this recipe. I also thought that adding some parsley and thyme to it would give it a nice flavor, (I’m sure that it’s obvious how much I love parsley by now…) I also added corn and mushrooms to give it some vegetables. But other than that I kept it the same. I just didn’t know whether I should follow the recipe and put my crock pot on high even though it would have to be in there for 50 minutes over the cooking time ( giving myself time to get to class and come back) or if I should put it on low and risk having to wait once I got back. I decided to go with putting it on high but looking back now I can see that that was the wrong decision…

Quinoa Risotto

It doesn’t look very appealing, huh? As soon as I got back and stirred it up I could tell that it was overdone… And when we ate it, it was super mushy. It was so disappointing but it was all my fault. It is likely if we hadn’t made those changes that the recipe likely would’ve been fine. But you can’t win them all right? And it was worth a try. It still had really good flavor to it, it just got overcooked. Oh well!

Overall I don’t think I would make this recipe again. If I were to, I would definitely make sure it was during a time where I could actually sit, watch and pay attention to the dish to make sure that I didn’t make the same mistakes again. Next time I’ll try a different quinoa recipe!

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Quinoa Risotto

  1. Thank you, I think it’s really important to see both sides of it. Whenever I’ve looked at cooking blogs in the past everyone always seems so perfect. In all honesty that just doesn’t happen. Do I nail it sometimes? Oh yeah. But there are also times like these where things don’t just work out. Plus I actually really like writing about the ones that failed.. It sounds kind of funny but in all honesty if a recipe works out great that’s awesome but there’s not always a lot to say about it. If a recipe fails on the other hand, you try and think of ways that it would’ve worked out, or other things you would’ve changed. I’ve cooked quinoa in the crock pot once before and it turned out so amazing that I’m definitely planning to put the recipe on here sometime when I collect all the ingredients again, so I’m definitely gonna give it another go, just take another approach.
    Thanks for reading!
    Ala

    Like

Leave a Reply

