Easy Tuna Salad

I’ve never actually had tuna salad before. So today was a first! I have a lot of cans of tuna from Costco and some extra mayo sitting around so I figured this would be the perfect solution! I also have a lot of tortilla shells, like the ones we use in our Tortilla Shell Pizzas. This recipe was very quick, easy, and pretty good! The original recipe is from the Food Network. It included some ingredients I didn’t have so I left those out. But of course I still added some stuff of my own.

Tuna Salad

I left out the celery and onion just because I didn’t have them on hand. If I had I would’ve definitely added them in. I think they would’ve given this dish a nice crunch and the onion would give it a nice flavor. I added a can of corn to this recipe, because it’s what I had on hand and I thought it would taste pretty good. I also didn’t want to leave this as just tuna and mayo, I had to give it some other color. I also added some paprika into the mix.

Tuna Salad2

Overall I really liked it! I thought the corn was actually pretty good. I approached this as if it were potato salad which I have made many times before, ( I’ll have to share that recipe some time, just wait for summer!) and I put corn in that so I figured it would work. Here you can see my obviously excellent wrapping skills where my wrap ended up looking more like a taco. I didn’t mean to load that much onto it but this recipe made way more than I was expecting! My plan was to just have enough to put half in my wrap, half in Christian’s and then be done with this, but I still have enough for 2 more whole wraps! Oh well I guess we have a treat waiting back for us when we get back from spending Easter with our families. When I wrapped these up I also sprinkled some cheese on the bottom of the tortilla shell, and that was pretty tasty.

Overall if I were to make this dish again, I would hopefully have more things in my pantry! Like I said above if I had onions or celery I would’ve definitely added them in. It would also be good with some shredded carrots, some pickles, (or a dash of pickle relish if you have it) honestly I think there are a lot of fresh veggies that could easily go well in this dish! Here is a pic after I had already put our two into wraps. I also saw some recipes on pinterest that included chickpeas in the tuna salad. If I didn’t already have a plan for my can of chickpeas I would’ve definitely liked to try throwing them in. But alas, they were already spoken for.

Tuna Salad1Sorry for the poor picture quality, I had to use my phone for this one!

That’s a wrap!! šŸ˜‰

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

2 thoughts on “Easy Tuna Salad

  1. I know it sounds funny! But we didn’t really keep canned tuna around growing up, and we actually didn’t eat a lot of fish in general, which is funny because now I eat fish all the time and I love it! I don’t even think I had eaten a can of tuna before last year. I definitely know I was missing out now! They are so easy! The only problem is that I have trouble finding a lot of different recipes to use them in. It seems like people only use canned tuna for either tuna salad, or tuna noodle casserole. Do you have a favorite tuna dish? If so please share! I will definitely keep making tuna salad though. It seems like it will be great for summer!
    Thanks for Reading!
    Ala

    Like

Leave a Reply

