Garlic Roasted Asparagus and Mushrooms.

MMMMMMMMMMMMM…. Asparagus. I was craving some while I was home for Easter break, but I didn’t want to make it the exact same way I always do, (even though this one ended up being quite similar!) I found this recipe at Purely Primal for asparagus and mushrooms and thought it sounded de-lish! I love asparagus, and I love mushrooms, what could go wrong!

I based my recipe off this, however I didn’t have any rosemary, so I used some herbs de provence. That has rosemary in it so it totally counts. I also added some parsley, because you know how much I like parsley. It’s obvious. I add it to just about anything. I used garlic powder instead of actual garlic which is a fine swap, I just use more garlic powder than I would use actual garlic just because the flavor is going to be stronger in fresh than in the powder. However for things like this I do prefer to use the powder (what I mean by things like this is mainly stuff that goes in the oven. If you’re putting the garlic on top of something in the oven that’s fine but when you toss the ingredients and then dump them in the pan like this garlic powder is preferable). My reasoning is because garlic likes to burn. Powder doesn’t burn unless you burn what’s underneath it. This way you get the taste of garlic without the bits of charcoal. I’m not saying that this always happens, however it does seem to happen quite often to me. But maybe that’s just me… and that was it, well I guess plus olive oil to toss it in ( just enough to coat, it’s best to start out with a little and then add more as you go to avoid over-pouring), oh plus salt and pepper! Now that’s it! I promise.

Aspar&MushI cut up my asparagus instead of leaving them whole stalks so that they would incorporate more with the mushrooms. I should’ve known that this would’ve lowered the cooking time a bit but I forgot…

How was it? AWESOME! It was really tasty.. I accidentally overcooked the asparagus a little bit which normally ruins it but this was good even mushy! It had such good flavor that made up for it all! I would definitely recommend this for anyone who likes asparagus and mushrooms because they were an awesome pairing. I would make this again in a heartbeat! Would be a great side for steak, fish, or most proteins for that matter!

Aspar&Mush3

Aspar&Mush2

Please take advantage of this recipe and enjoy!

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

2 thoughts on “Garlic Roasted Asparagus and Mushrooms.

  1. I’m glad you like it! I was really nervous to start this, thinking that no one would be interested. But after starting I love it! I’m definitely going to be keeping this up! I’ve gotten a lot more following than I ever thought i would to.
    Thank you!
    Ala

    Like

Leave a Reply

