Potato Dumplings

Yesterday was the first day I didn’t update! I had the post completely written and everything, I just needed to finish adding the pictures. But then by the time we got finished driving 3 hours to get back to where we live I had a massive headache and ended up going to bed right away. Because of that I’ll update twice today to make up for it!

A family recipe! Being Easter I figured I would share one of my traditional family recipes. This was passed down from my great grandma to my grandma, skipping my mom and down to me! This recipe is super easy, just takes some time to complete. She started teaching me this recipe when I was really young, and we make it for every family holiday. That is why I apologize in advance. Though I’m going to try to specify the requirements for this recipe as much as possible, there are some things that are by eye instead of a specific amount.

Start out this recipe by peeling about 3 lbs of potatoes and cutting them up into chunks. Boil the potatoes with salt until you are able to just insert a fork into them, not fully done. (If you cook them until they are fully done they will likely be mushy by the end). Drain and place into a big bowl. Whisk one egg and add to the potatoes, along with one heaping teaspoon of baking powder. Mix into the potatoes and crumble until the potatoes are a mixture of larger and smaller pieces. Let cool to room temperature. This is normally where my grandma stops and leaves the rest for the holiday day. She covers them loosely and puts them in the fridge. You want to cover them loosely because you want the potatoes to dry out a little bit.

The day of the holiday you take them out of the fridge and let them warm to room temperature. Next you add flour. Start with about one cup. Use your hands to mix the flour through. Keep adding flour slowly, like about 1/4th cup at a time until you can easily form them into balls.

Dumplings1Start shaping them into baseball sized balls until you have used up all of the potato mixture.

Dumplings2

Heat some water to boiling. Add the dumplings. Boil for 15-20 minutes. Then they should be done! Serve topped with gravy.

Dumplings3

If you have leftovers, try cutting them into slices and pan searing them in a skillet!

Enjoy!

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

Leave a Reply

