Sweet Potatoes with Chickpea Tomato Sauce

The weather has been so weird lately. At first I was planning on saying, “If April showers bring May flowers we are sure going to have a pretty May!” and then something unexpected happened. It snowed last night. I had a feeling we weren’t quite done with the snow, I was just hoping that I was wrong. I don’t know if this applies to all people in the Midwest, so I’ll just say Minnesota for now. But, people from Minnesota like talking about the weather. I understand how it doesn’t make sense to talk about it when the temperatures stay relatively the same every day, (like the constant 70 degrees in San Diego) but when it’s as random as it is in Minnesota it definitely makes sense to talk about it! Both have their perks! In San Diego, you know how to dress because you know what it’s going to be like, but here home in the Midwest, you get to enjoy the beauty of every day being different. And rain. I love rain! It makes for the best sleep too, thunderstorms lull me to sleep. Anyways, since it has been so rainy here is a warm dish for your tummies!

I’ve mentioned before that I try to make a couple of our dinners a week vegetarian, so when I saw this recipe for Sweet Potatoes with a Chickpea Tomato Sauce, I thought it sounded like it was definitely worth a try! I had a lot of hiccups trying to execute this dish. At first I thought that the sweet potatoes were cut up and put into the sauce but when I pulled out the recipe to make it that night I realized that I was supposed to serve the sauce with baked sweet potatoes. Like I said in one of my other posts as we are drawing closer to the end of the school year and there are a lot of projects both Christian and I had to finish up this week. So when I read that I was supposed to bake the potatoes after we met up with our school groups I was really disappointed. I didn’t want to have to wait until 10 o’clock before we got to eat. That’s when I remembered that I saw on Pinterest a way to make baked potatoes in the slow cooker! I was so happy when I remembered that… It saved me a lot of time I would’ve been waiting to eat!

I followed these instructions from The Yummy Life, the only thing else I did was put an extra sheet of tin foil to cover the bottom of my crock pot. That way it would catch any extra juices that escaped so I wouldn’t have to clean my crock pot after.. 30 extra seconds of prevention saves you 3 minutes of washing a crock pot! It worked like a charm.

Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes. Cook regular or sweet potatoes without oven heat. It doesn't get any easier than this! www.theyummylife.com/Slow_Cooker_Baked_Potatoes

Of course we didn’t just have baked sweet potatoes. And this is of course where most the hiccups came into play. Before we made it i knew that we didn’t have any Bay Leaves so I google searched what would be a good substitute, I found that thyme makes a good replacement. Which was great because I have plenty of thyme! (Haha… not really…. 😉 ) You just use 1/4th teaspoon thyme for every bay leaf. This recipe called for 3 bay leaves so about 3/4ths teaspoon thyme. But to be honest I didn’t measure, I just dumped some in there and called it good. That was fine though, the problems came later. I of course also added a can of corn to this recipe. We didn’t have any onions, ( we were going to buy some this week because they were on sale, but we couldn’t find a pack of them that looked good. And we’re not gonna pay for bad onions, even if they are cheap). Everything else I kept the same! I didn’t like only putting the chickpeas in 2 minutes before the recipe was done, they didn’t get to soak up any of the other tasty flavors! It was as if the chickpeas were off on their own when we ate it like, sauce, sauce, sauce, CHICKPEA, sauce. This recipe also made wayyyy too much for us. I understood that we only made 2 sweet potatoes rather than 4 like the recipe called for, but I almost think that even if we were to have made four we would still have a lot of leftovers. There was a lot… and now I don’t know what to do with them. We don’t really want to eat the sauce by itself but I don’t know what else I could do with it. Have any ideas? Maybe we were supposed to put more on top of our sweet potatoes, but I feel like mine looks like the picture! See?

sweetpotchickpeaWe served ours with some plain quinoa too. But that would’ve been really good in the sauce as well.I put some on my sweet potato with the sauce which was pretty tasty! I don’t know, this recipe wasn’t horrible, but it was definitely not my favorite either. I’m also not sure if I would make it again. I’d have to make some major changes if I did though. I think I would’ve cooked the quinoa in the sauce with some extra water so it sucked up that tomato flavor. And definitely put the chickpeas in earlier so they got to be more cohesive. Overall it was okay, but not great. It needed something to add that extra umph. Any ideas what to use all the leftovers for? Because I’m at a loss at the moment…

And guess what? NO CHEESE WAS HARMED IN THE MAKING OF THIS RECIPE! For once… Maybe that’s why I feel like it was missing something….

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

Leave a Reply

