Zucchini Cups

Hi, my name is Ala and I’m addicted to pasta sauce.I just feel like I should admit this now because I am about to show you one way to make your store bought pasta sauce taste awesome-sauce! (get it?) Whenever I eat spaghetti I always eat my spaghetti and my sauce separately, I know it may sound weird but to me it is so good that way. I also like to eat second or third helpings of just sauce. I’m giving you this brief background so after you read this you will understand, “oh this is why she’s getting so worked up about some silly spaghetti sauce, she’s addicted to it.”

Want to impress people? This recipe looks so pretty you will be sure to impress guests! This recipe would be great as an appetizer, (especially if using smaller zucchini’s to make these bite sized) or as a part of a main course. This dish is Gluten Free, however by easily replacing the meat sauce with a vegetable sauce it could be vegetarian or vegan as well! The original idea came from Kalyn’s Kitchen but I cut it down a ton.

Meat, Tomato, and Mozzarella Stuffed Zucchini Cups found on KalynsKitchen.com

The original recipe called for two large zucchinis, however I only had one very large zucchini left so I knew I was going to have to make less than the recipe originally called for. So instead of adding onions or green pepper I just made a basic meat sauce by browning one pound of ground beef in Italian seasoning, (I used parsley, basil, oregano, rosemary, marjoram, garlic powder, and fennel seeds) salt n peppa as well as a little crushed red pepper.Ā  added a can of pasta sauce, and once it was fully warmed I mixed in about a cup of cheese.

Next, I cut the zucchini into one and a half to two inch chunks and scooped out the middles (breaking a spoon in the process) trying to leave enough at the bottom, although sometimes I broke little holes through. Oh well! I saved the zucchini innards, maybe they can be used for some zucchini bread later on!

Even after cutting down the recipe, I still had too much. So we saved it and used it to top some pasta on the side. I topped it with cheese and popped it in the oven for 20 minutes just like the recipe said and when it was done I was so pleased. It was so good. I’ve never tried seasoning the beef like that while browning it but I will definitely be doing that again… It was delicious.

zucchinicups

I know, mine kind of leaked.. a lot. But that doesn’t change the taste! Even Christian didn’t mind them, (I’m trying to teach him to like zucchinis…. Because they are one of my favorite vegetables. I think it might be catching on!) Once you put them onto a plate however, all that leakiness is gone, and your just left with cute little cups of yum šŸ™‚

zucchinicups2

Okay well maybe there’s still a little leakiness, but a lot less that’s for sure. There would be even less if I didn’t accidentally poke so many holes into the bottom of my cups. But overall I would definitely make this again.

Recommendations? Well my original plan was to brown up the zucchini innards with the ground beef, but I forgot. If you haven’t yet noticed I am a pretty forgetful person. I try not to be but I can’t really help it. (This is where I feel like I should insert a quote about Neville Longbottom and his Remembrall but then I realize that not everyone is as big of a Harry Potter fan as I am….) But otherwise I would definitely try it with the original onions, green peppers and mix of ground beef and ground turkey, just making sure that I had enough vessels for the sauce. I don’t know what spike seasoning is, but either way I think I’m going to stick with the seasonings I did in it because it was that good.

Oh, I’ve also learned to use an all metal spoon to scrape.. Using a half metal half plastic was not a great idea….

If you give this recipe a try, please let me know how it turns out for you!

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

3 thoughts on “Zucchini Cups

  1. Pingback: Lasagna | Pin. Eat. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

