Pork Casserole

If you’ve heard a stereotype about Minnesotans, it’s probably that we eat a lot of Casserole (or as many of us call it “Hot Dish”) Well with this post I do nothing to combat that stereotype!

Coming into this recipe I was pretty sure I was going to like it. This recipe is almost exactly the same as a recipe my family has been making for years. You can find it at All the Cooks. It’s an easy recipe and I set it up a little differently.

I didn’t use any milk, and I’m glad I skipped it, there was easily enough creaminess for all of the rice. I think if I did add it it would have been way too liquidy. Instead of beef broth I used pork broth. In reality when I make ramen in chow mein I save the seasoning packets that I don’t use. I had a pork one left over so I used half of a seasoning pack and one cup of water.

I also mixed it all right in the cooking pan. I poured in one cup rice, added the cream of mushroom soup, and the broth, mixed it all up, put the pork chops on top and threw it in the oven. Close to the end of the cooking time I also added some shredded cheese to the top and let it get all melty.

PorkcasseroleI didn’t get a picture of the whole thing I was too hungry and dug right into it. Oops! But you look closely and you can see one of the pork chops.

I know this wasn’t the healthiest meal for us. I’m sure the sodium must have been through the roof. That’s only temporary, one day I hope to make homemade cream of mushroom soup and can it myself. And I know the seasoning packet is definitely no good. However getting this close to the end of the semester, Christian and I have been working like crazy to finish up our end of semester projects. I’m glad enough that we didn’t eat out. When you are focused so hard on papers for hours you just don’t feel like cooking, or at least I don’t.

porkcasserole2

Overall it was really tasty. Normally my family makes the same recipe, although I normally just use one cup water rather than broth and use chicken thighs instead of pork chops. so just know that these recipes are interchangeable! Make it with whatever you would like!

If I could I would have added a can of mushrooms, but my pan is just wayyy to small. Other than that I don’t know if there’s anything else I would change to this recipe. With chicken thighs its one of the meals I really enjoy.

Give it a try sometime 🙂

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

Leave a Reply

