Browned Butter Noodles

Tonight was one of those nights where I was like oh crap. What am I going to make tonight? My original plan was to make roast beef but after meeting with groups, ( and watching the newest episode of Once Upon a Time…) I wasn’t in the mood to wait over an hour to eat. My tummy was so hungry…

So I sat down and tried to figure out a meal I could make out of what I had. Originally I was thinking about making some spaghetti but finding out that we were out of marinara. That forced me to be a bit more creative…

I’ve made something similar to this before so the idea came to mind knowing that I had pasta and butter. Boy am I happy I did. It was tasty. And to think it was mainly just the cans I had in the “pantry” (aka 3 drawer that I use to store food).

So first I cooked 16 ounces of pasta. (Personally I set this off to the side, but only because I didn’t want to do more than one dish. If I didn’t mind doing dishes I would’ve cooked the sauce separately at the same time as the noodles.)

I used two sticks of butter. I started melting those down with some garlic powder, salt, pepper, parsley, crushed red pepper, rosemary, and basil. I waited for it to start getting browned and then I added two cans of tuna, one can of corn and one can of mushrooms. I let those get fully warmed through and then I mixed the noodles in. Then I took it off the heat and mixed in some cheese! I would tell you the exact measurements but I didn’t really use any I just kind of threw stuff in until it looked good, haha.

butterednoodles

Recommendations: well I’ve tried adding some ground sage before and that was really good. Also instead of using just any cheese, I would rather have used parmesan, (especially the fresh stuff, that gives it a nice bite. if you know what I mean) I also think that some zucchini would be good in this as well other than that I’m not sure! It was super good 🙂

butterednoodles2Sorry I’ve been so sporadic things have just been kind of crazy lately but I should be getting back to the regular schedule soon. This week I have one final and my biggest project due so as soon as that’s done I only have two finals and a paper the next week but that’s it. Everything should be back to normal soon. However I will definitely be making this again.

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

Leave a Reply

