Homemade noodles…

Ahhhh! Where have I been? In the process of moving back into my parents house for the summer I having been making very adventurous meals, if any meals at all for that matter.

I wasn’t sure if I should post this one, because this failure is definitely not because of the recipe. However it’s been so long without a post, I just need to get something out there! Who am I to think that trying to make homemade noodles would be just fine without a rolling pin, hand crank machine, or anything. Obviously I was under some sort of delusion… This was a DISASTER.

The recipe that I used to make these was from Nourishing Joy, and is a great example of a basic pasta recipe.

How to Make Fresh Homemade Pasta | NourishingJoy.com

See how pretty and perfect theirs look? If only mine looked that nice. Like I said I was having issues with this recipe. Especially because I didn’t have a rolling pin. Christian and I used all of our arm muscles to try to roll these into little worm type shapes, thinking that that could be as close to spaghetti as we were going to get. Let me tell you it turned out nothing like spaghetti. I had a picture of these noodles but now I can’t find it. If I do I’ll add it to this post but for now I’ll just have to describe them. Nevermind! Christian found them!

homemadenoodles

After putting this into the water they bloated up like misshapen balloons! They ended up almost a half inch thick in some places. And they tasted just as bad as they looked. They tasted like pieces of boiled bread if bread would stay together and not just be soggy crumbs after being boiled.

Recommendations: Use a hand crank or automatic pasta machine. Or even a rolling pin, please do! Please please please don’t try and do it all by hand. It was too much work for a horrible taste.

homemadenoodles2

I will definitely try this again, however I’ll do it at my moms house with her hand crank pasta machine. If I try it again I will update this post with the new results.

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

Leave a Reply

