Cilantro Lime Rice

It’s been awhile since I posted. I’ve been home for a couple of days now, but yesterday was the first day I got to cook, and I’ve spent most of my free time on my online class. And it wasn’t just cooking, it was cooking for 8!  So I decided to go all out. I wanted to make a favorite of mine, a Chipotle burrito bowl. What’s the first thing that goes in any bowl? (If you so choose that is) Cilantro Lime Rice. According to my family, this recipe from Saving Dollars & Sense was spot on.The idea is to mimic Chipotle’s Cilantro Lime Rice, and apparently it did the trick. I tried to follow the recipe as closely as possible but I did have to make some changes.

Copycat Chipotle Cilantro Lime Rice

I increased the amounts, making the recipe 4 times as much as it originally was. What that meant is that I didn’t get enough limes. So I used mostly limes and a little bit of lemon juice to supplement. I also added the lemon/lime juice, cilantro and thyme (which I used instead of bay leaf) in the rice while it was cooking rather than just adding it after like the recipe suggested. I also added to this some of the already squeezed lime peel, to give it more of a lime flavor than a lemon. Personally I prefer to use olive oil over vegetable oil, so that’s what I did!

limerice

I didn’t get a great picture, or even one before it had been dug into. Oh well, you get the idea! Overall this recipe was really easy and it turned out super great, I would definitely make it again, I would just be better prepared with more limes! Other than that I don’t know if I would change a thing! it was really good! And went perfectly with this meal.

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

2 thoughts on “Cilantro Lime Rice

Leave a Reply

