Rhubarb Bars

I know that this is the longest I’ve taken between posts, I just feel like I don’t have as much time recently. I just finished a summer online class and I work full time and that was only one class! So props to people who do more than that! In my defense it was an accelerated class trying to fit like 14 weeks of material into 3 weeks. But anyways that finally ended on Sunday. I promise I’ll find a regular schedule again soon. These last two days I’ve just been so happy to be done with my class that as soon as dinners done I’ve been going outside to have fun. To be honest I want to loose a few pounds, I know that that’s not something you normally say on a food blog, but I seem to like to share more than is necessary at times. Maybe that’s because I don’t know who’s reading this but I feel like many people go through that same issue so it doesn’t need to be hidden and no one should feel ashamed to try and make themselves healthy. Of course I am saying this on a desserty-type post… But all in moderation. And of desserts, this one isn’t too bad for you if I do say so myself.

This recipe is delicious. It is my second time making them, so I knew that they would be going into it. The recipe is from The Farm Chicks and is super easy to make.

IMG_4539

-A few notes on Rhubarb!– It has come to my attention that some people may not be accustomed or have even heard of rhubarb before! I may be just because it grows well in my local climate, but I understand that that’s not the case everywhere. Most people have seen it in the form of strawberry rhubarb pie. By itself, rhubarb doesn’t have a lot of flavor but is typically used in desserts where its flavor really pops. It looks a little something like this:

The stems are typically green until it is ripe when they turn a deep red. The biggest thing that you need to know about rhubarb however is…. DO NOT EAT THE LEAVES!!! The leaves of rhubarb are poisonous. I’m sure that modern medicine could cure you of this poison, however, is it really worth trying it?? The stems are the part of rhubarb that you eat. And they are tasty!

On the weekend we went to the Minneapolis Farmers Market. The Minneapolis farmers market is massive compared to any other farmers markets I’ve been to. But the diversity is what makes it kind of cool. Right now due to the short Minnesotan growing season, (we literally planted our garden towards the end of may and the next night it frosted, did a number on the plants) right now many of the farmers aren’t selling their own goods but rather reselling other goods. (How do I know? What Minnesotan grower would be selling bananas, lets be honest. Anyways while there we picked up a bunch of rhubarb. But we planted some in our yard so maybe by next year we can have some without having to pay for it.

On to the recipe. I completely followed this one as is except I don’t think I quite fully had the whole four cups of rhubarb. The blog gives you a couple different suggestions if you run into this problem, however I just decided to make due instead. And a note! When you look at the ingredients, there are more lower down on the page. I just want to make sure you notice them because I didn’t and had to run out to get the rest of the ingredients (even though like I said I had made it before).

rhubarbbars3

I love this, it’s one of my favorite rhubarb recipes. I promise I will be making this again. (oh and again and again and again). Another great thing is that most people likely have a good number of the ingredients on hand already.

rhubarbbars4

You want another picture? Okay that sounds good πŸ™‚

rhubarbbars1

Let me know if you try this recipe, what you think, is there anything you would change? The works! Personally I like this recipe the way it is, however I do agree with the original author that adding some strawberries could be interesting, however I think that this has just the right amount of sweetness, and adding strawberries might ruin that and make it too sweet. However this recipe does have a decent amount of tartness, so maybe raspberries would be good with this instead of strawberries. Overall I’m just really happy with this recipe, if you couldn’t tell…

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

4 thoughts on “Rhubarb Bars

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal Bars | Pin. Eat. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

