Stuffed Bell Peppers

stuffedpeppers

Ingredients

  • 6 Bell Peppers (whichever color you prefer- my favorite is orange)
  • 1.5-2 Cups Cooked Rice
  • 1lb Ground Beef
  • 1 Container Button Mushrooms
  • 2 Cans Pasta Sauce, your choice
  • 2 Tbsp Italian Seasoning Mixture
  • 1 Tsp Crushed Red Pepper
  • 2 8oz packages of Mozzarella Cheese

This is a really easy recipe to make. It takes a bit of time, but there is really nothing hard about it. The first time I wanted to make stuffed bell peppers I tried looking for a recipe but was unable to discover a recipe that was exactly what I wanted, so what I did was I took aspects from all of those recipes and mixed them all together.

While preparing this, I would recommend doing so in an oven safe skillet, like a cast iron pan. I will explain my reasoning later.

The first thing you do is cook your rice, the rice used in this recipe could be leftovers from the night before or just made earlier in the day, either way you precook this rice before you start with the recipe. You’ll need about 1.5-2 Cups cooked rice. Since we normally just use the leftovers in our fridge I couldn’t tell you how much uncooked rice that is, however I wouldn’t think that it would be more than a cup.

Once you’re ready to start making this recipe, (you could also easily make this the day before and put tinfoil on it and put it in the fridge) you brown your ground beef. (It would also be tasty if you added in some diced onions at this point) while browning the ground beef I prefer to add in some spices, like fennel, rosemary, basil, oregano, crushed red pepper, or just an Italian Seasoning. Once the ground beef is almost browned, add in the mushrooms diced up. If you really like mushrooms you can add another one of those blue containers of them to it, but if you don’t like mushrooms at all take them out or substitute them with something else you do really liked. After all of these things are cooked, add in the rice and the pasta sauce. Mix until it is all combined. Clean your peppers by taking off the top (however save the top) and taking out all the seeds, and place these in your baking dish. It’s hard to tell by the picture but when I placed them in my dish I had to make a pattern with my colored peppers 🙂 After you finished setting up your peppers, spoon your rice/beef mixture into your peppers until they are overflowing a little bit. Top with the mozzarella cheese. Put this into a 400 degree oven for about 20-30 minutes or until the top of the cheese is all brown and delicious looking. Everything in this is already cooked, and I like my peppers to still have a bit of a crunch to them so I didn’t want them to be in there too long.

stuffedpeppers2

stuffedpeppers3

stuffedpeppers4

I mentioned earlier that you should prepare your filling in an oven safe skillet. My personal reasoning for this is because I always end up having more filling than I do peppers to fill them with…. So what I do is I put cheese all over the leftover filling still inside of the skillet and then I take those tops of the peppers that I’ve saved and put those on top. Though it’s not quite as tasty but that way I don’t waste the leftovers.

stuffedpeppers8

stuffedpeppers9

stuffedpeppers11

Overall it was really good. This is my second time making this recipe and I will continue to make it in the future. This is my favorite stuffed pepper recipe so far, (maybe it’s because that’s the only recipe I’ve had, but you know details, details…) I’m interested to try different stuffed bell pepper recipes, however this one will always be my fallback. What would you add or change to this recipe? I think it might be interesting to take a completely different approach and make chicken stuffed peppers with Alfredo sauce and mushrooms inside instead. Maybe it wouldn’t work but it will at least be worth a try! Oh nevermind, chicken Alfredo stuffed portabella mushrooms… Guess I must just be in the mood for alfredo-y things today! Anyways this is a good recipe. If you try it, let me know how it works for you and how you made it your own!

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

Leave a Reply

