Oatmeal Bars

-Apology, and rant- I know that I have been apologizing for not posting too often on almost every single post I have written lately, but I do feel bad. I love my blog, and I am disappointed that I have been slacking this much, however I believe I have found out my problem. There are not enough hours in the day. I thought that once I got home for summer that I would have plenty of time to write blog posts and all kinds of fun stuff. I must’ve been mistaken. I should explain something here for those of you who don’t understand how bad winter can be… There have been times I have worn snowsuits under my halloween costumes because there is snow on the ground. There have also been times where you need to bundle up in June, (or in extreme cases July) because of a random snow storm. When you live like this you need to take advantage of the beautiful summer days that you do get. That’s why when I get home from work a lot of the time I try and go out for walks or go rollerblading because I know that winter’s right around the corner. So why don’t we move and leave Minnesota, (or the midwest)? Because although we hate it, we still love it. Makes sense, right? I thought I despised winter, but I spent one year without it and I missed it. I really didn’t miss hanging out of the drive through window in -50 degree windchill for a whole day, but I miss the fun activities you can do constantly (for free and readily available to you) during the wintertime. I love to ice skate. My point is that once I’m home I’m not to apt to sit down and write a post. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to (trust me I still think about my blog constantly), it just means that I want to take advantage of summer days instead of staying inside. -Rant over, onto the food.- I was in the baking mood one night but not in the shopping mood, so I tried looking for recipes on pinterest that contained ingredients that I already had in mind. We had recently purchased a massive thing of oatmeal from costco so that was on my radar while browsing. That is why this recipe for Coconut Almond Baked Oatmeal Bars really stuck out to me as something to try. Coconut Almond Baked Oatmeal ~ a warm, nourishing breakfast that can be baked ahead of time and reheated on busy mornings | FiveHeartHome.com I actually had all of the ingredients to this one as well, so it was a perfect fit! I also of course had to add my own flair to it. I added some blueberry craisins, as well as chocolate chips. I decided to toast my coconut and almond in the same pan I was planning to make the oatmeal bars in, that way I didn’t have to unnecessarily dirty any extra pans.

oat2

I baked them right away, however I didn’t try one until the morning. Sadly I was very disappointed once I did give them a try. I didn’t like these at all. It wasn’t that they were bad flavor wise, they were just so dry… I’ve been trying to think of what could be used to fix this problem, but my best solution would be to try and cook the oatmeal before I put it into the mix… I really am not sure how that would work either, however eating this was like just eating raw oats with coconut and other goodies. Maybe there are people who like raw oats, however I am not that person. So like I said, these could be successful if a few changes are made, however at the current time they are not something that I would make again. oat3They looked so good too! Which just made it even more dissapointing. The picture doesn’t really do it justice.But for it to look so good just to taste so meh can’t be right! At least it didn’t cost that much for the ingredients because like I said they were all things that we already had on hand. oat1I only had just enough coconut for the inside of the bars, so I didn’t add any extra to the top like the original poster did. However the extra coconut would not have changed my opinion of this snack. I think I’ll stick to my Rhubarb Bars for now 😉

oat4

Do you have any suggestions? Let me know in the comments!

I hope you had a happy 4th of july if you are in the states, or just anywhere I hope you had a good day!

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Bars

  1. You could break them up and use them as granola on top of yogurt, or you could pour milk on top of them and have a cereal of sorts. I’ve made oatmeal bars before and was also not impressed!

    Like

  2. Those are great ideas! I really like the yogurt idea, it would be much better like that I believe. I think I tried the milk as it was suggested in the original post, however I still wasn’t amazed by this recipe. I’m glad it’s not just me! I thought maybe I really messed these up because oatmeal bars seem widely popular.. (at least on pinterest it seems).
    Thank you for sharing your ideas!
    Ala

    Like

Leave a Reply

