Lemon Garlic Tilapia

My next dish is a very traditional tilapia dish. At the moment with only two weeks left to the semester and a lot of tilapia left, we gotta get to eating it up. This is how I’ve seen tilapia served many times. It comes from College Part Wife and looks pretty.

Garlic Lemon Fish

Since we are trying to use up our fillets I made us 2 per person. (We both felt so spoiled!) But I didn’t have a pan big enough to pan-fry all four of them at a time, so I decided to bake mine instead. It definitely would’ve been quicker to pan-fry, so if you’re short on time, that’s probably the best choice for you. With baking, you don’t get as crispy of an outside, so if you want something that has that yummy brown crunch pan frying would be your best option. The benefit I find to baking is that you don’t have to pay as much attention to it. You can ignore it the whole time and pull it out when it’s done! Either way you’ll still end up with some delicious fish, so pick which ever one suits your fancy!

I also just used some lemon juice from a bottle instead of lemon zest. I just used a few drops on each fillet. That was fine they got a nice lemony taste from it.

lemontilapia2

As you can see I put too much garlic on each of my fillets. When you use the chopped garlic that comes in a bottle it doesn’t seem as strong as the original stuff, (which makes sense) so I always use more of it than the recipe says, however this time it was too much. However this was an easy fix, we just scraped the garlic off the top before eating it and it was fine! We got the nice garlic taste and weren’t overwhelmed then.

Overall this is a very simple, typical tilapia recipe which we didn’t have problems with. It was especially tasty with our Cheesy Broccoli Quinoa we made with it.

lemontilapia1I really love tilapia. It’s so  versatile and very enduring. It stays together really easy rather than quickly breaking apart like other fish, and it stays very juicy when you eat it so it’s not dry at all. It’s also very inexpensive for fish. Of course I like other fish like salmon, (or pretty much any fish ever) but tilapia is definitely the best for our budget. It also has a very mild taste, so it’s not horribly “fishy” tasting.

Happy Eating & Thanks for Reading!

Ala

4 thoughts on “Lemon Garlic Tilapia

  1. It’s pretty tasty for sure! I still think my favorite way we’ve had it so far is the parmesan tilapia in one of my other posts though. Do you have a favorite recipe with tilapia?
    Ala

    Like

  2. Hello Ala! We have nominated your blog for the Liebster Award which is a way for fellow bloggers to reach out to one another and discover new blogs too. Details can be found on our blog post: http://fabulousfaresisters.com/2015/04/20/liebster-award/

    There’s absolutely no obligation to participate but should you decide to go ahead with it, do give us a shout as we are very interested to read your responses to our questions.

    Keep up the good work and we look forward to seeing more amazing posts & photos from you.

    Cheers!
    Linda & Heidi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment